Travis Morin named the 2013-14 AHL MVP

Travis Morin of the Texas Stars has officially won the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL’s Most Valuable Player for the 2013-14 season. (Photo Credit: Scott Paulus)

The final award from this season has been announced and, no real surprise, the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL’s Most Valuable Player for the 2013-14 season has been bestowed to Travis Morin of the Texas Stars.

Morin has been at the heart of the high-powered Stars this entire season and should easily take home the league’s scoring title: 87 points (32 goals, 55 assists). The next closest players in scoring, Zach Boychuk and T.J. Brennan, are a solid 15 points behind with both players having played more games in the AHL than Morin this season.

AHL’s Press Release:

Since notching four points on opening night, Morin has been the American Hockey League’s leading scorer wire-to-wire in 2013-14 and has 32 goals and 55 assists for 87 points with a plus-16 rating in 65 games with Texas heading into the final weekend of the regular season. Leading the offense for the regular-season champion Stars, Morin has nearly doubled his 44-point output from a year ago while setting franchise records for assists and points in a season. The CCM/AHL Player of the Month in both October and January, Morin began the season on a 10-game scoring streak and has gone without a point in consecutive games on just four occasions all year. He took part in the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic in February and was named a 2013-14 First Team AHL All-Star last week.

A seventh-year pro from Brooklyn Park, Minn., Morin has also appeared in four games with the Dallas Stars this season, picking up an assist for his first career NHL point. In 349 career AHL games with Texas and Hershey, Morin has totaled 99 goals and 196 assists for 295 points, and he is the Stars franchise’s all-time leader in goals (99), assists (195), points (294) in 344 contests with the club.

The AHL’s most valuable player award honors the late Les Cunningham, a member of the AHL Hall of Fame who was a five-time league All-Star and three-time Calder Cup champion with the Cleveland Barons. Previous winners of the award include Carl Liscombe (1948, ’49), Johnny Bower (1956, ’57, ’58), Fred Glover (1960, ’62, ’64), Mike Nykoluk (1967), Gilles Villemure (1969, ’70), Doug Gibson (1975, ’77), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Ross Yates (1983), Paul Gardner (1985, ’86), Tim Tookey (1987), Jody Gage (1988), John Anderson (1992), Don Biggs (1993), Derek Armstrong (2001), Jason LaBarbera (2004), Jason Spezza (2005), Darren Haydar (2007), Keith Aucoin (2010), Corey Locke (2011), Cory Conacher (2012) and Tyler Johnson (2013).

Out of curiosity, who would you pen as the Milwaukee Admirals MVP from the 2013-14 season? I think there are a few names that could easily be thrown into that discussion. Who would you pick?

One thought on “Travis Morin named the 2013-14 AHL MVP”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s