Smith Named AHL Player of the Week; Wrapping up AHL Season Awards

After starting all three games over the weekend and allowing just three non shootout goals, Milwaukee goaltender Jeremy Smith was named the Reebok/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending Sunday, April 15. Over the course of the Admirals final three-in-three, Smith stopped 78 of 81 shots, earning five of a possible six points available over the weekend.

The impressive weekend left Smith in the top spot in the AHL in minutes played with 3,283, second in wins (31-19-2) and in goals against average (2.17). The third-year professional is also tied for second in AHL shutouts with five and sits in 10th place overall with a .922 save percentage.

Smith is the first Admiral to receive the honor this season, and the first Milwaukee to receive the award since Blake Geoffrion claimed back-to-back crystals on Jan. 30 and Feb. 6 last winter.

Over the past week the AHL announced several individual 2011-2012 season awards as well. Here is a list of the victors:

Les Cunningham Award (AHL MVP): Cory Conacher, Norfolk Admirals.

John B. Sollenberger Trophy (leading scorer): Chris Bourque, Hershey Bears (93 points).

Willie Marshall Award (leading goal scorer): Cory Conacher, Norfolk Admirals (39 goals).

Dudley (Red) Garret Memorial Award (AHL’s most outstanding rookie): Cory Conacher, Norfolk Admirals.

Yanick Dupre Award (AHL Man of the Year): Nick Petrecki, Worchester Sharks.

Aldege “Baz” Bastien Award (AHL’s most outstanding goalie): Yann Danis, Oklahoma City.

Eddie Shore Award (AHL’s most outstanding defenseman): Mark Barberio, Norfolk Admirals.

Louis A.R. Pieri Award (AHL’s most outstanding coach): Jon Cooper, Norfolk Admirals.

Fred T. Hunt Award (AHL player best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship, determination and dedication to hockey): Chris Minard, Grand Rapids Griffins.

Harry “Hap” Holmes Award (at least 25 games played on team which allows fewest goals): Ben Scrivens, Toronto Marlies.

2 thoughts on “Smith Named AHL Player of the Week; Wrapping up AHL Season Awards”

Leave a Reply