Preds Trim Roster – Welcome To Milwaukee!

The Preds started today with 50 guys still in training camp.  They end the day with 38.

Their press release looked a little something like this…

Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations/General Manager David Poile announced tonight that the club has assigned forwards Gabriel Bourque, Ryan Flynn, Mark Santorelli and Ryan Thang; defensemen Jonathon Blum and Roman Josi; and goaltender Jeremy Smith to Milwaukee (AHL). The Predators also sent forward Taylor Beck back to his junior team (Guelph, OHL) and released forwards Chris Mueller and Mark Van Guilder, and defensemen Scott Ford and Scott Lehman from Professional Tryout Agreements (PTOs).

Absolutely ZERO of that should be unexpected.  I think Josi is the only name on the list who may have been able to force his way onto the Preds opening night roster with a good training camp, but injuring one’s wrist in practice kind of put the damper on that.  And while not technically “assigned to Milwaukee”, Ford, Mueller, Van Guilder, and Lehman should be heading to town as well.

Still in camp for the Preds :

22 forwards, including  Jonas Andersson, Blake Geoffrion, Matt Halischuk, Linus Klasen, Sergei Kostitsyn, Jamie Lundmark, Cal O’Reilly, Nick Spaling, Andreas Thuresson, and Kelsey Wilson.

12 defensemen including Cody Franson, Aaron Johnson, Teemu Laakso, Grant Lewis, Brett Palin, Ryan Parent, Alexander Sulzer.

And 4 goaltenders, including Mark Dekanich, Anders Lindback, and Chet Pickard.

Admirals training camp opens on Tuesday, and I’m sure we’ll see some more names heading our way before then.  But for now, with Jeremy Smith in town, that bumps Aaron Sims and Wojo down to numbers 2 and 3 on the goalie depth chart.

One thought on “Preds Trim Roster – Welcome To Milwaukee!”

Leave a Reply